Log in
The Committees of the Board generally consist of executive board members who advise on a specific area of operations. Most importantly, these committees are a way to leverage the knowledge of a larger group of people to help the board make the best decisions possible for the association at large.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the President, Vice President/President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, and any other member the President chooses to appoint, and can act on behalf of the Board of Directors on routine and emergency business between regularly scheduled meetings.

Audit & Finance Committee

Chair: Marina Abramov, Director of Continuing Education, Borough of Manhattan Community College, CUNY

This committee assists the Treasurer in making budgetary and financial decisions that are in keeping with the Association's goals and objectives for each year. 


  • Assists the Treasurer to establish each year's budget assuring projected revenues and expenditures meet the Association's goals and activities for the year in consultation with the Board of Directors
  • Meets as needed, typically before Board of Directors meetings, on an ad-hoc basis to provide guidance for the Treasurer
  • Reviews end-of-year revenue and expenditures
  • Recommends budgetary adjustments as appropriate
  • Reviews findings and recommendations from tax preparer regarding audit documentation
  • Provides quarterly and year-end reports to the Board of Directors

Members include the President, Vice President, Conference Committee Chairperson(s), and Membership, Engagement and Communications Committee Chairperson.

Committee of the Regions

The Vice President is the chairperson of this committee. They are charged to effectively coordinate with the Association's membership throughout the three regions: East, South, and West.  The chairperson oversees and coordinates the activities of the Regional Chairpersons.  The Committee shall coordinate and design annual regional conferences in consultation with the Board of Directors. The Committee shall recruit new members to the Association and will assist in the award ceremonies at the annual conference.

Regional Chairpersons

The President appoints a member from each of the three regions (East, South, and West) to serve as the Chairperson of that region. 

Duties include:

  • Seek and share members' professional development needs.
  • Respond to individual issues and concerns within a region.
  • Promote membership.
  • Provide feedback to the Board of Directors on Association issues.
  • Plan and present annual Regional Meetings, focusing on professional development for continuing educators and current issues in the industry
  • Encourage members to nominate, then organize & executive an approach to select the Region's Charles A. Burns Outstanding Adult Continuing Education Student Award.
  • Serve as the Region's representative on the Resolutions & Awards Committee, select all award recipients each year, and organize and facilitate the awards ceremonies at the annual conference.
  • Organize, facilitate and document the official award of the Regional Charles A. Burns Outstanding Adult Continuing Education Student Scholarship within each region.
  • Facilitate Charles A. Burns Outstanding Adult Continuing Education Student participation in the Annual conference's Awards Ceremony if awarded from their Region, including navigating travel & hotel details, coaching student acceptance speech, and receiving / caretaking student entourage at the conference. If the Chairperson position for any region cannot be filled, the other Regional Chairpersons share the above duties until the position is filled.

Regional Committees

The Association brings members together locally through its three Regional Committees. At least one event is hosted in each region every year, giving members the opportunity to learn more about trends in the continuing higher education industry, tour other higher education institutions and grow their professional network while minimizing their travel costs. Such activities shall include the planning and implementation of regional conferences, in cooperation with the Chairperson of the Committee of the Regions and the Board of Directors.

The three Regional Committees are:

East Regional Committee

The East Regional Committee, covering Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Lewis, Montgomery, Oneida, Otsego, Renssellaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, St. Lawrence, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, and Washington counties.

South Regional Committee

The South Regional Committee, covering Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Orange, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Suffolk, Westchester counties.

West Regional Committee

The West Regional Committee, covering Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chenango, Chautauqua, Chemung, Cortland, Erie, Genesee, Jefferson, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Niagara, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates counties.

© Continuing Education Association of New York, Inc  |   info@ceany.org | 646-779- 3398

Mailing Address: 1632 1st Ave #21990, New York, NY 10028

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software